Joseph Baker
2 min readAug 4, 2022

--

I recently bought a house.

Being the first home that I have owned, I admit, I’m a “newbie” when it comes to dealing with home services providers on the receiving end. While I have worked with many of these types of businesses as a marketing consultant, until recently, I had not yet had the experience of hiring them, myself.

And, I will say, I was astonished.

But, not in a good way.

Apparently, the standards can be very low.

Many don’t return your calls.

Most don’t return your emails.

They tell you they’re going to show up for an estimate, and then simply don’t.

Some give you unreasonably wide estimated arrival times. (Essentially, “We’ll be there sometime between when the sun rises and when it sets”)

There also seems to be an attempt to squeeze the most amount of money out of you for the least amount of commitment.

Clearly, this is an absurd approach to dealing with clients/customers. One that may even bankrupt you in the long run.

(If I’m honest, I even found myself considering starting a home services business myself, just to smoke the competition with incredible customer service…)

The opportunity before you becomes one of great importance:
Astonish your clients/customers with so much

--

--